Does Butter Have Gluten?

butter is gluten free

If you have celiac disease or are trying to follow a gluten-free diet, it is very important to pick the right food. Some foods that we consume on a daily basis may contain gluten ingredients. However, gluten may not be the main ingredient but can be found in additional ingredients in your dish, like seasonings. One most commonly used ingredient on an everyday basis is butter. Does butter have gluten?

Let’s find out.

Does Butter Have Gluten?

Butter is a staple ingredient in every kitchen. It is used to cook almost every food. There are hundreds of meals that have butter as their main ingredient. If you are on a gluten-free diet, you need to know if butter is really gluten-free before using butter in your diet. Or should you replace butter with some other ingredient?

So does butter have gluten? 

The answer to this question is YES. Yes, butter is a gluten-free ingredient. Most of the butter brands you find in grocery stores are gluten-free unless there are any address gluten-containing ingredients, which is unusual. 

So this means you can use butter to make your gluten-free food without worrying about adding a gluten ingredient to your diet.

Note: When buying butter from the grocery store, make sure to read the ingredient label just to be sure.

Butter is Gluten-Free!

Other ingredients fall in the same line, like butter, cream, buttermilk. Margarine and fresh milk are all Gluten-Free. You can use these ingredients freely in your gluten-free diet. 

However, when you pick any of these products, make sure to pick the gluten-free versions in packed items and check the ingredient label.

The best thing is to pick plain butter as it is always gluten-free, which is a healthy addition to your diet.

There are many healthy brands that offer plain butter, so look out for such brands at the grocery store. Brands like Earth Balance, Land of Lakes, Organic Valley, and Smart Balance are some of the brands that offer plain butter.

If you are unable to find these plain butter brands at the grocery store, you need to check the label of the other brand’s butter. If the label mentions plain butter, then you can safely use it for cooking gluten-free food. But if the ingredient list mentions some add-ins, then make sure to check whether those add-ons contain gluten or not.

Final Words:

When you are on a gluten-free diet or have celiac disease, it is more than important to check every ingredient you put on your plate for gluten content. Certain food items that we think are healthy or gluten-free might contain some seasonings or addon ingredients that may contain gluten. Plain butter is Gluten-free; however, if you buy processed butter, read the label carefully. Not choosing the food properly can fail your gluten-free diet.

Shubhrata

Hey There! I am A Makeup Artist turned into a Content writer. Intrigued by the world of digital marketing, I am currently working as an SEO Content Writer. Being a fashion enthusiast I enjoy writing blogs on Beauty, Fashion and Fitness Trends.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *